Book News

Top 10 Fictional Villains

      With Halloween being tomorrow I thought...what better way to celebrate than pointing out some of literature most rad/awesome/evil/oogie villains. So here they are...this years Top 10! Enjoy. Oh...and feel free to leave a comment and share a few of your favorite villains. Bwahahahahahaha!            Iago from Shakespeare's "Othello" If you were required to read Othello in HS like I was, then there should be no doubt in  your mind as to why Iago made this list. He's not the type of villain that you are going to have reoccurring nightmares about...
Read More →

Recent Posts

Top 10 Fictional Villains

Top10-620x400

      With Halloween being tomorrow I thought…what better way to celebrate than pointing out some of literature most rad/awesome/evil/oogie villains. So here they are…this years Top 10! Enjoy. Oh…and feel free to leave a comment and share a few of your favorite villains. Bwahahahahahaha!            Iago from Shakespeare’s “Othello” If you were required to read Othello in HS like I was, then there should be no doubt in  your mind as to why Iago made this list. He’s not the type of villain that you are going to have reoccurring nightmares about, but he is definitely […]

Nobody Walks – Excerpt

Screen Shot 2014-10-29 at 9.41.32 AM

  Nobody Walks by Mick Herron Publication Date: Feb 17, 2015 Add it to your Goodreads shelf / Amazon wishlist     Excerpt   1.1  The news had come hundreds of miles to sit waiting for days in a mislaid phone. And there it lingered like a moth in a box, weightless, and aching for the light.   The street cleaners’ lorry woke Bettany. It was 4:25 am. He washed at the sink, dressed, turned the bed’s thin mattress, and rolled his sleeping bag into a tight package he leaned upright in a corner. 4:32.            Locking the door was an act of faith […]

Waiting On Wednesday

wow

    “Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.   Golden Son by Pierce Brown Book #2  - Red Rising Add it to your Goodreads shelf / Amazon wishlist Publication Date: January 6, 2015 With shades of The Hunger Games, Ender’s Game, andGame of Thrones, debut author Pierce Brown’s genre-defying epic Red Rising hit the ground running and wasted no time becoming a sensation. Golden Son continues the stunning saga of Darrow, a rebel forged by tragedy, battling to lead his oppressed people to freedom.As a Red, Darrow grew up working the mines deep beneath the surface […]

All I Want For Christmas Is You! + iPad Mini Giveaway!

unnamed (1)

  All I Want For Christmas Is You by Jessica Scott Add it to your Goodreads shelf / Amazon wishlist   Excerpt!   It was not a gentle kiss. It was not tame or timid or questioning. It burned her down to the root of Sam’s soul. It touched something deep and dark and hidden. Something she’d thought was long since dead and buried and gone. Patrick’s tongue slid against hers, stroking to life the very sensations she thought she’d never feel again. It was electric, the feel of his mouth against hers. The scrape of stubble against her chin, […]

Tuesday Newbies!

Screen Shot 2014-10-28 at 5.39.07 PM

Discover what’s NEW in the literary world today! Click images for additional information.                                                                            

Revenge is Best Served…. + Giveaway!

20342549

  There is a quote by Douglas Horton that says: “While seeking revenge, dig two graves – one for yourself.” I stand behind Horton on this one. Revenge? Though they say it’s “best served cold” isn’t going to make you feel better. But revenge in books? I say bring it on.  Ok, yes…I know that there are roughly a gazillion moralistically (is that even a word?) condemning reason why what I just said is wrong. (The most obvious probably being that you shouldn’t kill people. Society tends to frown on that.) But when it comes to fictional plots and a […]

Down The Rabbit Hole

22735431

  I’ve always found that starting reviews is much harder than finishing them. More often than not I try to make them personal. Share an experience, or funny antidote. Something to draw my readers in, bring them down to my level. See the book from where I am sitting. I’ve talked about my love of books. I’ve shared quotes that move me to tears. I’ve even ranted from a place of complete and utter annoyance, but I have NEVER been able to put down (eloquently) into words what books actually DO to me. I’ve never been able to find the […]

Mistborn Trilogy Repackaged for Teen Audience

bs3

     York Times Bestselling Author Brandon Sanderson’s Epic MISTBORN Trilogy Now Available in Paperback!!     Praise for Mistborn series:   “Intrigue, politics, and conspiracies mesh complexly in a world Sanderson realizes in satisfying depth and peoples with impressive characters.” —Booklist on Mistborn   “This entertaining read will especially please those who always wanted to know what happened after the good guys won.” —Publishers Weekly on The Well of Ascension “Sanderson is an evil genius. There is simply no other way to describe what he’s managed to pull off in this transcendent final volume of his Mistborn trilogy.” —RT Book Reviews, Gold Medal, Top Pick, on The […]

Cover Reveal – Sentient by Wendy Koenig

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

    Sentient by Wendy Koenig Publication Date: August 11, 2015   Add it to your Goodreads shelf / Amazon wishlist Read an Excerpt When seventeen-year-old Pala de la Croix and her escort team are deployed to a newly discovered planet, their routine exploration quickly changes to a survival mission. After being targeted by their own weaponry and an unknown virus, the rangers and scientists attempt to make their way back to base camp safely.While Pala tries to unravel the motivation behind the attack, she also has to come to terms with the possible betrayal of her boyfriend and fellow […]

Waiting On Wednesday

wow

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.   Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard Publication Date: Feb. 10, 2015 Add it to your Goodreads shelf / Amazon wishlist A thrilling new fantasy trilogy for fans of DIVERGENT and THE HUNGER GAMES.The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre ofthose she hates the most. She quickly […]